India National Cricket Team News

In international cricket matches, India is represented by the Men in Blue, commonly referred to as “Team India” or the India Men’s National Cricket Team.

They were the Cricket World Cup winners twice, in 1983 and 2011. Two more victories come from the Champions Trophy in 2002 and 2013. The 2007 T20 World Cup was again won by them. Also, they have seven Asia Cup victories, the most recent coming in 2018.

The nation of India Team

Based in 1932

Nickname: Men in Blue; Coach: Rahul Dravid; Captain: Rohit Sharma; Website:


Asia Cup South Africa series in India

ODI Championship of ICC

ICC Championship of Tests

Women’s World T20 Twenty20 Internationals ICC World Cup 2019

The ICC Men’s World T20 Cup

Rahul Dravid is the team’s coach, while Rohit Sharma will be their captain in 2023. The Board of Control for Cricket in India is in charge of the team.

Earlier Times

The British began playing cricket in India in the early 1700s, and the first match took place in 1721.

The Parsi community established the Oriental Cricket Club, Mumbai’s first cricket club, in 1848. It was India’s first cricket club to be established.A crew of sailors participated in the first cricket match ever played in India in 1721.

First Trial & Series Success

Before winning their first Test in 1931, India had to wait 30 years.

India defeated England in Madras in 1952. India defeated Pakistan in the same year to win their inaugural Test series.

In the early 1950s, the Indian cricket team kept getting better at what they did. They triumphed in the series against New Zealand in 1956.

Their first-ever victory in a Test series was the victory over New Zealand.

The Quartet’s Formation and Victory in the West Indies

Srinivas Venkatraghavan, Bhagwat Chandrashekhar, E.A.S. Prasanna, and Bishen Singh Bedi led the Indian spin quartet in the 1970s.

Sunil Gavaskar and Gundappa Vishwanath became two of the greatest Indian batsmen of all time during that same period.

India won their first-ever Test match in the Caribbean thanks to Gavaskar’s 774 runs during the series against the West Indies.

The Queen’s Park Oval in Port of Spain hosted that match.

World Cup 1983

When Team India won the Cricket World Cup for the first time in 1983, it was their first significant victory in One-Day International cricket.

India’s 1983 World Cup campaign got off to a strong start with a surprise victory over the West Indies, following their elimination in the first round of the 1975 and 1979 tournaments.

They were subsequently down to 36/6 against Zimbabwe, but Kapil Dev’s outstanding innings of 175* saw them through to a score of 266 and an easy victory in the end. They then defeated Australia once again to advance to the semi-finals.

India’s medium-pacers, headed by Kapil Dev, produced an incredible turnaround as they bowled the West Indies out for 140 runs to win the title.

Sustained Achievement

Under Sunil Gavaskar’s guidance, the Men in Blue won the World Championship of Cricket in 1985 and the victory gave them the confidence to take on foreign opponents.

They were also winning the Asia Cup at the same time. They took home the trophy twice, in 1984 and 1988.

Five more times would they go on to win it.

Indian cricket squad in the years 1990–2000

Anil Kumble, who would play for over two decades, had also joined the lineup by 1990. He would go on to become one of the world’s three greatest spinning artists of all time.

The Indian captaincy changed hands several times between 1996 and 2000. Tendulkar replaced Mohammad Azharuddin as captain, but at the beginning of 1998, Tendulkar relinquished the position, and Azharuddin was once more given the responsibility.

India beat the Australian squad in 2001 after John Wright was named their first-ever foreign coach in 2000.

India and world champion Australia drew 1-1 in a Test series during the 2003–04 season. They also triumphed over Pakistan in a Test and One-Day International series during the season.

Greg Chappell took over as coach in lieu of Wright, while Rahul Dravid assumed leadership.

India didn’t make it to the second round of the 2007 World Cup, which was the country’s lowest World Cup result since the 1992 World Cup.

They were eliminated from the tournament in the opening round after losing to Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

Dravid quit as captain a few months later.

India went on to win the first Twenty20 World Cup, which was held by South Africa, under the leadership of new captain MS Dhoni.


The Zee Group established the Indian Cricket League in 2007 and attempted to sign up a large number of cricket players from both India and abroad in an effort to threaten the BCCI’s dominance.

The Indian cricket board banned players connected to the T20 competition, the Indian Premier competition, fearing they would lose their grasp on the sport. The Indian Premier competition, a cricket competition, was established in the interim in 2008.

The World Cup in 2011

India also went on to win the 50-over World Cup in 2011 under Dhoni’s direction.

They defeated Pakistan in the semi-finals and Australia in the quarter-finals en route to the final, where they put up an electrifying display at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium against Sri Lanka.

In order to secure the victory in that event, Dhoni struck a six off Nuwan Kulasekara for the game-winning runs.

One of the greatest coaches to coach India is Gary Kirsten, who assumed coaching duties. For family considerations, he declined to extend his contract following the World Cup victory.Duncan Fletcher, a former England coach, took over.

Champions Trophy for 2013

The 2013 Champions Trophy was likewise won by India under the leadership of Dhoni and Fletcher.

T20 World Cups in 2014 and 2016

In terms of their white-ball cricket record, India went through a period of what-ifs after winning the Champions Trophy in 2013.

They advanced to the last four of the 2015 World Cup after winning every game in the group stage and defeating Bangladesh in a contentious quarterfinal. But hosts Australia crushed them in the semi-final to make it to the final.

Heartbreak occurred at the T20 World Cup in 2014, when India appeared to be the favorites to win but lost in the final.

In a low-scoring final, Sri Lanka won the title, exacting revenge for their 2011 loss against India.

Then, in the 2016 home World T20, India defeated Pakistan in the league stages after defeating Australia and Bangladesh. But in a thrilling semi-final, they fell short against the West Indies.

Virat Kohli took over as captain of the Test team upon Dhoni’s resignation during the 2014–15 season.

Early 2020s and the late 2010s

The team advanced to the World Cup semifinals in 2019, but they were defeated by New Zealand.

They advanced to the ICC World Test Championship Final in 2021 but were defeated by the Kiwis once more. The team fell to England in the 2022 T20 World Cup semifinals despite qualifying for the finals.

Records of Indian Cricket Teams

Best Test Run Performers

Rahul Dravid: 13288; Sachin Tendulkar: 15921

10122 for Sunil Gavaskar and 8781 for VVS Laxman

Sehwag Virender: 8586

Top Scorers in the ODI

18426 Sachin Tendulkar

11422 Virat Kohli

Ganguly Sourav: 11363

MS Dhoni: 10773 Rahul Dravid: 10889

Leading Test-Takers

619 Anil Kumble

434, Kapil Dev

Harbhajan Singh: 417 R Ashwin: 350

311 Zaheer Khan

Top Wicket-Takers in ODI

337 Anil Kumble

Srinath Javagal: 315

288 Ajit Agarkar

Khan Zaheer: 282

Harbhajan Singh: 269

Title Winnings:

Asia Cup: 1984, 1988, 1990–91, 1995, 2010, 2016 (T20), 2018; World Cup: 1983, 2011; Champions Trophy: 2002 (Joint-Winners), 2013; T20 World Cup: 2007

Related Posts