Makaveli Tracklist: The Three-Day Theory (The Don Killuminati) (OG 1996 Version)

This track list was handwritten by Tupac Shakur in 1996 using a blue ballpoint pen on 8 x 10.5 lined notebook paper for his album “Makaveli”. Tupac’s original song choices and sequencing are reflected in this list. The track list has been updated in the public release. In excellent condition. The set list includes a letter of provenance from a very close acquaintance of Tupac’s who was thought to be family. The collection came from this person’s personal collection. comes with a Certificate of Authenticity from Gotta Have Rock & RollTM as well.

Within a span of seven days, the album was finished. It just took three days to write and record the lyrics, and four more days to mix them. The album was supposed to be released in March 1997, but Suge Knight released it four months early after Tupac passed away (on November 5, the same day that the Proposition 209 law that Tupac, Suge, and others were battling against was enacted and signed into law).

The album’s original back cover image, which features Dr. Dre, Puff Daddy, and The Notorious B.I.G. (from left to right), is shown below. After Tupac went away, the [Back] cover was abandoned.

“The 3 Day Theory” was the original title of the album, which had about 14 tracks.

1. The Original Bomb Version

Compared to the other version, the track is one minute shorter. Why? Short introduction alone. This improves this version automatically. Additionally, there is a faster and marginally altered outro. Everything else is the same except for that.

2. Original Version of Hail Mary

The second beat sounds more refined and polished, although the bass is a little bit heavier. Also a little different is the outro. Everything else is identical.

3. Krazy (original form)

The opening is completely different; it has a lot of similarities to the opening of “Toss It Up” from the other release. Additionally, there is a noticeable difference in the beat (different and excessively loud drum pattern, poorly fitting track, less polished beat than the previous one, and usage of distinct melodies). The outro is unique as well.

4. Pay attention to your mouth

It’s clear that this diss song was left off of the other release. Nice and quiet music, but he goes hard on it and hits numerous East Coast artists. Overall, very solid diss tune. Regarding the song itself, the beat is likewise unpolished, and the intro is the same as that of “To Live & Die in L.A.”

5. The Original Video: “To Live & Die in L.A.”

It is clear from the outset that the intro is different from the previous one. The beat is also a little different; unlike the other, it doesn’t have the guitar playing in the background throughout the hook. I’ve heard that everything else is exactly the same.

6. Companions

An additional song that was not included in the previous release.

“Fuck Friendz” is a well-known remix of this song among his fan base. This, then, is the initial iteration. The remixed version has a much different beat, and this one is less polished. The hook and the intro are also distinct. I prefer the remixed version for the record.

7. Old Version of Blasphemy

My favorite song on the album, hehe. This is the one I’ve been wanting to hear. In any case, the introduction is more lucid than the previous one even if it still makes use of the same example. Though it’s not really visible until you really pay attention to it, the beat also doesn’t sound as polished as the other one. Everything else has the same tone.

8. Hold Ya Head (Original Version)

This rhythm doesn’t sound as polished as the last one, that’s the only difference I can detect. That is all.

9. Lost Souls (Version Alternative)

A different iteration? I’m not even familiar with the original version, so I can’t draw any comparisons. All I know is that this track is fun, but it doesn’t fit on the album since the beat is too lively for the rest of the record. It also didn’t make the other release. Even though “To Live & Die in L.A.” is a cheerful song, it still seems like it belongs on the record.

10. The Original White Man’s World Version

Though significantly different and cleaner on this one, the introduction is nearly the same. Though it is slower, has somewhat different melodies, and lacks polish, the beat is likewise extremely similar but slightly different. Although the other version is superior, there’s something unsettling and eerie about this one.

11. El Niggaz Nature

Another song, less cheerful than “Lost Souls,” but still not included on the previous release. A really good track, though I’m not sure if it should be on the album. And even though I’m sure I’ve never heard it before, for some reason it feels familiar. Perhaps the sample(s) utilized here, which sounds like a sample of Michael Jackson’s “Human Nature” to me after listening to it.

12. OG Version of Against All Odds

Here, there’s a slightly different outro and intro, and the bassline is also a little different—it might even be the same, but it sounds different to me since the beat isn’t as smooth, which amplifies the bass. All other details remain the same.

13. Secret Path

An additional tune that was absent from the previous edition. Sounds more like a skit with some voices and interview samples over a good rhythm (some of which were already used on this and prior versions of the album).

14. The final track, “When Thugz Cry,” is another one that isn’t on the alternate version. It’s a fantastic, moving song that makes me think of “White Man’s World.” I will most certainly return to this one.

Related Posts